Why Do We Eat Meat?

05/06/2021

 This poem was written out of my need to make sense of a world in which I live as a vegan and others do not. At the time, I had a very complicated relationship with people who ate meat. I couldn't understand them, because I felt like I knew so much about the industry and many of them just didn't want to see or care about the animals who were being murdered and abused every day. People are very defensive about what they consume, and as someone who actively chooses a "different lifestyle," conversations about my eating choices came up frequently. I wrote a series of poems about our impact on animals, and this was the last one I wrote. The more poems I finished, the more that I started to realize that I needed to change the way I talked to people about veganism. I needed to tell them that I understood where they were coming from. I was uncertain of how to do this, so I just started writing. The Dr. Seussian style of this poem was a deliberate choice as it was the only way I knew how to make light of a topic that was a core part of my identity. Although the poem is not explicitly about uncertainty, it reflects a time that I felt I was unsure and uncomfortable talking about my politics and practices.


Emily Marsh


We are obsessed with meat.

Because it's delicious and cheap


In the past,

Eating meat meant

A person was wealthy

Now,

Everyone can afford it,

But it's not healthy


We are told

We need

A LOT

Of protein.

We are told

Meats are good

As long as they're lean


Technological innovation

And stuff we loved to try

Now meat's a huge industry It's

weird not to eat it, but why?


We eat more than we need to

Because it's cheap

It's normalized

And there's no good reason not to


It's shoved in our faces

By ads, friends, and family.

We're freaks if we don't

And "it's good" and "I'm hungry"


But the least we can do

Is start cutting down

To reduce our footprint

And save the whole town


Be aware of your impact

You can make a difference.

As long as you're trying,

As long as you listened.


© 2024 Cottey College, 1000 W. Austin Blvd, Nevada, MO 64772
Creative rights reserved by individual artists
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started