Sonnet for Nyx

04/18/2022

My poem consists of my struggling emotions with having to re-home my cat after getting evicted from my old house. My cat, Nyx, was adopted when she was only a few weeks old, so I have seen her grow up. Though, knowing she is safe with someone I trust makes the thorns worth the pain and makes me smile when I think about her. I wish I could still take care of her, but I know she will have a wonderful rest of her life with her new owner. I look back only on fond memories now.

Ash Cortright


Through your eyes I can see the sky,

Bluer than sea, brighter than the stars.

For my cat, you are so bizarre

Crossed eyes, wild nature, thinking you are soooo sly.

Fluffy, white body next to mine as I cried

Rehomed, not gone forever, but so far;

A distant memory with a painful scar

Remember meows and chirps til I die.


My memories of you are forever clear

And safety you find in someone new.

Who cares for your fur, life, when you are next to her

Yet a smile fills my face, shedding my last tear.

Skies will always be brighter remembering you

Cloudless, sunny... you are remembered forever.


© 2024 Cottey College, 1000 W. Austin Blvd, Nevada, MO 64772
Creative rights reserved by individual artists
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started